Meet our Committee

Committee

We are the committee for 2017-18! We are just 9 of the many members who make up the CU. Our roles range from organising weekly main meetings, running events and keeping CU members in the know with what’s going on.

If you have any questions or suggestions, please get in touch with one of us – we’d love to hear from you!

         

Nick Carter, President
Nick, President

      Geography 

n.carter1@newcastle.ac.uk

Nick’s job is to lead the Committee and oversee everything that goes on in CU. He chairs the weekly committee meetings where all things CU-related are discussed.

 

Fiona Jamieson, Vice President

Fiona, Vice President

Geography

f.jamieson3@newcastle.ac.uk

As well as helping lead the committee, Fi puts together our Freshers Week events and organises our tea and coffee giveaway during exam seasons outside the Robinson Library.

 

Iona Capstick, Secretary

Iona, Secretary

Speech and Language Sciences

i.capstick1@newcastle.ac.uk

Iona heads up the administration of the CU. She does a lot of work behind the scenes and also sends out our weekly emails that keep our members up to date.

 

Lucy Malton, Treasurer

Lucy, Treasurer

Geography

l.malton1@newcastle.ac.uk  
                           
Lucy is our Treasurer and she looks after the CU’s finances. She also leads the team that organises our annual weekend away in November.

 

Euan Rae, Events Secretary

Euan, Events Sec

History and Archaeology

e.rae1@newcastle.ac.uk  

Euan leads the team that organises our bigger outreach events, such as our carol service, mini events weeks and events week.

 

Judy Abila, International Secretary

Judy, International Sec

Civil Engineering

j.a.abila2@newcastle.ac.uk

Judy is responsible for events aimed at international students, including the Globe Café. She also heads up the team that organises International Welcome week in September.

 

Matthew Brindley, Evangelism Secretary

Matthew, Evang Sec

Computer Science

m.brindley1@newcastle.ac.uk 

Matthew helps the teams that run Big Questions, Text-a-Toastie, Club Relief and Pop-a-Question events as well as thinking of creative ways to share the gospel on campus.

 

Zoe Levy, Hallgroup Coordinator

Zoe, Hallgroup Coordinator

Chemistry

z.levy1@newcastle.ac.uk

Zoe helps our hallgroup leaders organise their weekly hall group meetings, as well as their monthly ‘GO!’ Events! First years, get in touch with her!

 

Tom Hopper, Prayer Secretary

Tom, Prayer Sec

Mechanical Engineering

t.hopper1@newcastle.ac.uk

Tom encourages the CU in prayer and leads our “Launch” Monday and Friday morning prayer meetings. His job is to oversee how we pray corporately as a CU.